BOARD MEMBERS

Sophie Winkler

PRESIDENT

✉ sophie.winkler@nagnepal.com
Zurich, Switzerland

I have known NAG for several years and whenever possible I am there twice a year. Nepal and the whole NAG universe have grown close to my heart. In Switzerland, I support the foundation as president in all matters. I work as a self-employed lawyer and with this professional background, I can support the challenges of NGOs and their leadership also in legal matters. When I am not in Nepal, I like to spend my free time traveling to other distant corners of the world or playing sports in nature.

Nicole Thakuri-Wick

LEAD OF NAG

✉ nicole.thakuri.wick@nagnepal.com
Kathmandu, Nepal

At the age of 23, I left my home in Switzerland to travel to Nepal, where I met a group of young children who lived, slept and earned their living by begging on the streets of Kathmandu. On September 1, 1993, I was able to move into a shelter that had room for six children. It was only possible thanks to the financial support of my family and friends .This laid the foundation for NAG, Nawa Asha Griha, which means "Home of New Hopes". Nepal has been my home since then and I love the country and its people. Every day I see the children here at NAG grow into strong, independent and friendly adults. This gives me hope that the next generation of Nepal will be able to solve many of today's problems.

Philipp Inauen

COMMUNICATION

✉ philipp.inauen@nagnepal.com
St. Gallen, Switzerland

I visited Kathmandu and NAG for the first time in 2007, when I was a reporter for a Swiss private radio station covering a story about NAG and Nicole Thakuri Wick as part of a fundraising campaign. Deeply impressed by a country struggling with countless problems, by the beautiful landscapes as well as the work of Nicole Thakuri, I stayed connected to Nepal and NAG. Whenever possible, I travel to Kathmandu once a year to visit the school. In 2011, I joined the foundation board. I work as a correspondent for Eastern Switzerland for the news programs of Swiss Television in St. Gallen.

Nicole Steck

DEVELOPMENT

✉ nicole.steck@nagnepal.com
Bern, Switzerland

I have had a long and deep relationship with Nepal through my passion for the mountains. I am fascinated by the nepali people who do not lose their smile even in very difficult times and bravely look forward. When Sophie Winkler asked me to serve on the foundation board, I was immediately enthusiastic - about the project, about Nicole Thakuri-Wick, and on my first visit also about the children. They have all experienced terrible things, and they are all trying to find their way in life. I am happy to accompany them on this journey - by supporting NAG here in Switzerland, or by letting off steam together on the climbing wall.

Maja Hug

MEDICAL SUPPORT

✉ maja.hug@nagnepal.com
Zurich, Switzerland

Children and foreign cultures, that's what I burn for. In the hospital, as a pediatrician specializing in intensive care and neonatology, I care for small patients and try to do the best for their health. Traveling, always as an individual tourist, has fascinated me since my youth. I have already shared my knowledge in humanitarian medical missions in South America and Asia. On a trip, I also met Sophie Winkler, who told me with great enthusiasm about her commitment to the NAG in Nepal. When she asked me to serve on the Foundation Board in 2020, I was delighted to accept. This work combines my interests and my expertise in an ideal way, so that we can make a difference in Nepal.

Prof. Dr. Frédéric Perrier

VICE PRESIDENT

✉ frederic.perrier@nagnepal.com
Paris, France

As a young scientist who had enjoyed traveling in Nepal and Tibet since 1986, I had the privilege of meeting Nicole Wick-Thakuri in Boudhanath in September 1992. Impressed by her dedication and talent, I have since become a supporter of the NAG adventure with the help of friends in France, Zurich and at CERN. After moving to the University of Paris in 2004, I coordinated a research program on earthquake physics in the Himalayas until 2019, which was marked by the deadly 2015 earthquake. NAG remains my main inspiration for a better world for the underprivileged through education, development, sports, arts and humanistic science.

Roland Melliger

FINANCES

✉ roland.melliger@nagnepal.com
Münchenbuchsee, Switzerland

I am married, have got two grown-up sons and live in Münchenbuchsee. For 35 years I ran a trust and auditing company. After successfully completing the succession process, I wanted to put my professional experience and the time I had freed up to good use. Due to an advertisement, my attention was drawn to the fact that the NAG foundation was looking for a financial officer. I applied for this position. More than three years have passed since I was elected to this position and I am still very motivated to make my contribution to this charitable institution.

OFFICE TEAM

Rahel Bücheler

✉ rahel.buecheler@nagnepal.com
Buchberg, Switzerland

In 2012, my honeymoon brought me to the Himalayan region and to NAG. Since then, not only does Nepal have a big place in my heart, but especially NAG and its inhabitants: the children. Once you have entered NAG, you can't get away from it, the joy of life of the children is contagious and touches you. Therefore I have remained loyal to NAG and since 2019 I am employed by NAG at 20% for the office, which is a great honor for me. Working with the team and especially for the children at NAG gives me a lot of joy and I think there is nothing more meaningful than giving children a better and safer future.

Christine Winkler


✉
christine.winkler@nagnepal.com
Hofstetten, Switzerland

In spring 2018, I worked for the first time at NAG’s annual event and spontaneously volunteered to help with other work. This is how I came to owe the donations received, which I still enjoy very much today. In the meantime, I run the office together with my colleague Rahel Bücheler. Helping the poorest and especially children makes sense. Since I was able to spend two months at NAG in spring 2019, I am more convinced than ever!

STIFTUNGSRAT

Sophie Winkler

PRÄSIDENTIN

✉ sophie.winkler@nagnepal.com
Zürich, Schweiz

Ich kenne das NAG seit einigen Jahren und wenn immer möglich bin ich zwei Mal im Jahr vor Ort. Nepal und das ganze NAG-Universum sind mir ans Herz gewachsen. In der Schweiz unterstütze ich die Stiftung als Präsidentin in allen Belangen. Ich arbeite als selbständige Rechtsanwältin und kann mit diesem beruflichen Hintergrund die Herausforderungen von NGOs und deren Führung auch in juristischen Angelegenheiten unterstützen. Wenn ich nicht gerade in Nepal zu finden bin, so bereise ich in meiner Freizeit am liebsten andere ferne Ecken dieser Welt oder bin beim Sport in der Natur anzutreffen.

Nicole Thakuri-Wick

HEIMLEITUNG

✉ nicole.thakuri.wick@nagnepal.com
Kathmandu, Nepal

Mit 23 Jahren verliess ich mein Zuhause in der Schweiz um nach Nepal zu reisen, wo ich eine Gruppe junger Kinder traf, die auf den Straßen von Kathmandu lebten, schliefen und sich ihren Lebensunterhalt durch Betteln verdienten. Dank meiner Freunde und Familie konnte ich am 1. September 1993 eine Unterkunft beziehen, in der es Platz für sechs Kinder hatte. Das legte den Grundstein für NAG, Nawa Asha Griha, was so viel bedeutet wie "Haus der neuen Hoffnung". Nepal ist seit da mein Zuhause und ich liebe Land und Leute. Ich sehe täglich, wie die Kinder hier im NAG zu starken, unabhängigen und freundlichen Erwachsenen heranwachsen. Das gibt mir Hoffnung, dass die nächste Generation Nepals fähig sein wird viele der heutigen Probleme zu lösen.

Philipp Inauen

KOMMUNIKATION

✉ philipp.inauen@nagnepal.com
St. Gallen, Schweiz

Ich besuchte Kathmandu und das NAG erstmals im Jahr 2007, als ich im Rahmen einer Spendenaktion als Reporter für ein Schweizer Privatradio über NAG und Nicole Thakuri Wick berichtete. Tief beeindruckt von einem Land, das mit unzähligen Problemen kämpft, von den wunderschönen Landschaften sowie der Arbeit von Nicole Thakuri blieb ich mit Nepal und NAG verbunden. Wenn immer möglich reise ich einmal pro Jahr nach Kathmandu, um die Schule zu besuchen. Im Jahr 2011 trat ich dem Stiftungsrat bei. Ich arbeite als Ostschweiz-Korrespondent für die Nachrichtensendungen des Schweizer Fernsehens in St. Gallen.

Nicole Steck

ENTWICKLUNG / ORGANISATION

✉ nicole.steck@nagnepal.com
Bern, Schweiz

Zu Nepal habe ich durch meine Leidenschaft für die Berge schon eine lange und tiefe Beziehung. Mich faszinieren diese Menschen, die auch in sehr schwierigen Zeiten ihr Lächeln nicht verlieren und tapfer nach vorne schauen.

Als mich Sophie Winkler für das Amt im Stiftungsrat angefragt hat, war ich sofort begeistert - vom Projekt, von Nicole Thakuri-Wick, und bei meinem ersten Besuch auch von den Kindern. Alle haben sie Schlimmes erlebt, und alle versuchen sie, ihren Weg im Leben zu finden.

Ich freue mich, wenn ich sie ein Stück auf diesem Weg begleite - indem ich mich fürs NAG hier in der Schweiz einsetze, oder indem wir uns zusammen an der Kletterwand austoben.

Maja Hug

PROJEKTE

✉ maja.hug@nagnepal.com
Zürich, Schweiz

Kinder und fremde Kulturen, dafür brenne ich. Im Spital betreue ich als Kinderärztin, mit Spezialgebiet Intensivmedizin und Neonatologie, kleine Patienten und versuche das Beste für ihre Gesundheit zu tun. Reisen, immer als Individualtouristin, fasziniert mich seit meiner Jugend. In humanitären medizinischen Einsätzen habe ich schon in Südamerika und Asien mein Wissen weitergegeben. Auf einer Reise habe ich auch Sophie Winkler kennengelernt, welche mir mit grosser Begeisterung von ihrem Engagement fürs NAG in Nepal erzählt hat. Als sie mich im 2020 angefragt hat für das Amt im Stiftungsrat, habe ich sofort mit Freude zugesagt. Durch diese Arbeit verbinden sich meine Interessen und mein Knowhow auf ideale Weise, auf dass wir in Nepal etwas bewegen können.

Prof. Dr. Frédéric Perrier

VIZEPRÄSIDENT

✉ frederic.perrier@nagnepal.com
Paris, Frankreich

Als junger Wissenschaftler, der seit 1986 gerne in Nepal und Tibet unterwegs war, hatte ich das Privileg, Nicole Wick-Thakuri im September 1992 in Boudhanath zu treffen. Beeindruckt von ihrem Engagement und Talent, wurde ich seitdem mit Hilfe von Freunden in Frankreich, Zürich und am CERN ein Unterstützer des NAG-Abenteuers. Nachdem ich 2004 an die Universität Paris gewechselt hatte, koordinierte ich bis 2019 ein Forschungsprogramm zur Erdbebenphysik im Himalaya, das durch das tödliche Erdbeben von 2015 geprägt war. NAG bleibt meine Hauptinspiration für eine bessere Welt für die Unterprivilegierten, mit Hiilfe von Bildung und Entwicklung durch Sport, Kunst und humanistische Wissenschaft.

Roland Melliger

FINANZEN

✉ roland.melliger@nagnepal.com
Münchenbuchsee, Schweiz

Ich bin verheiratet, habe zwei erwachsene Söhne und bin in Münchenbuchsee zu Hause. Während 35 Jahren führte ich eine Treuhand- und Revisionsgesellschaft. Nach erfolgreich abgeschlossener Nachfolgeregelung wollte ich meine Berufserfahrung und die frei gewordene Zeit sinnvoll einsetzen. Auf Grund eines Inserates wurde ich darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass die Stiftung Strassenkinder Hilfswerk NAG einen Finanzverantwortlichen sucht. Ich habe mich darauf hin für diese Aufgabe beworben. Seit der Wahl in dieses Amt sind bereits mehr als drei Jahre vergangen und ich bin nach wie vor sehr motiviert, meinen Beitrag an diese karitative Institution zu leisten.

GESCHÄFTSSTELLE

Rahel Bücheler

✉ rahel.buecheler@nagnepal.com
Buchberg, Schweiz

2012 hat mich meine Hochzeitsreise ins Himalayagebiet und ins NAG geführt. Nicht nur hat seit da Nepal einen grossen Platz in meinem Herzen erhalten, sondern vor allem auch das NAG und seine Bewohner: die Kinder. Wenn man NAG einmal betreten hat, lässt es einen nicht mehr los, das Strahlen und die Lebensfreude der Kinder stecken an und berühren einen. So bin ich NAG seither mit viel Freude treu geblieben und seit 2019 bin ich zu 20% von NAG für die Geschäftsstelle angestellt, was für mich eine grosse Ehre ist. Die Arbeit mit dem Team und vor allem für die Kinder im NAG macht mir sehr viel Freude und ich finde, es gibt nichts Sinnvolleres als Kindern eine bessere und sichere Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Christine Winkler

✉ christine.winkler@nagnepal.com
Hofstetten, Schweiz

Im Frühling 2018 arbeitete ich zum ersten Mal beim Jahresanlass des NAG mit und meldete mich spontan bei weiteren Arbeiten mitzuhelfen. So kam ich dazu, die eingegangenen Spenden zu verdanken, was mir bis heute sehr Freude macht. Mittlerweile betreibe ich zusammen mit meiner Arbeitskollegin Rahel Bücheler die Geschäftsstelle des Hilfswerks.

Den Ärmsten und vor allem Kindern zu helfen macht Sinn. Seit ich im Frühling 2019 zwei Monate im NAG verbringen durfte, bin ich überzeugter denn je!